Toggle Menu

Curriculum for Wales

This is an exciting time for the young people of Wales. A new Curriculum for Wales is coming that will enthuse learners from 3 to 16, giving them the foundations they need to succeed in a changing world. Click here to see the School's curriculum provision

The four purposes

The purpose of a curriculum is to enable learners to develop as:

  • Ambitious, capable learners, ready to learn throughout their lives
  • Enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • Ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • Healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society

The areas of learning and experience

The following six areas of learning and experience (Area/Areas) must be reflected in the adopted curriculum.

  • Expressive Arts.
  • Health and Well-being.
  • Humanities.
  • Languages, Literacy and Communication.
  • Mathematics and Numeracy.
  • Science and Technology.

Literacy, numeracy and Digital competency skills will be taught across each of the 6 Areas of Learning.

Useful Links: